Music….My first love

Before I was even old enough to put a name to the sound and even long before I knew the joy of being loved by another, all I had and all I loved was music.  The good ones were enough to take my breath away, slow my pulse and elevate me to another level of consciousness……It felt so good that I simply couldn’t have enough of it.  It made me giddy just by melodiously hinting at the things that I could only dream of and even expressing those deeply buried feelings that most of us were too afraid to admit.

I first fell in love with Devine, Brandy, Michael Bolton, Luther Vandross, TLC, Spice Girls, Backstreet Boys and N’Sync.  Then my parents took me back to the old school jams with Diana Ross, Marvin Gaye, Patti Labelle, The Manhattans, Earth Wind and Fire, Tina Turner, Smokey Robinson, Barry White and Whitney Houston.  Then the Millenium heralded the start of a new relationship with some hot R&B lyrics blazing the charts with Neyo, Usher, Kelis, Rihanna and Shakira.

I love music because it’s dynamic…the fact that some don’t like what others see as brilliant only reinforces the fact that music has something for everyone.  Whilst I will eventually get old and die and my relationships aren’t guaranteed to last forever – one thing’s irrevocable….music has been and will always be my first love

See my Pinterest page here: http://gb.pinterest.com/NattyDread88/

Leave a Reply

